Can’t seem to keep up

No matter what I do right now there is always a pile of vegetables of some sort in my kitchen waiting to be processed. We can’t eat them fast enough. I am incredibly sick of zucchini. My husband is sick of the carrots and tomatoes. We could do with some more corn and melon but that may not happen. That window is very short. I still have more tomatoes to deal with. Luckily the hail storm the other day was short-lived so it only pruned my plants a bit. I see it dented a few tomatoes here and there but they don’t appear to be any worse off.

The carrots from my garden are short. Fat but short. I wondered how this ground would be. It looks like I have some deep digging to do for the carrot area next year. I have some serious re-thinking on where things are going next year. I have some herbs that I would really like to get going. I would really like to be able to sell extra herbs at the farmer’s market next year. I don’t think many people have herbs and I’ve overheard people asking for things like dill. We’ll see what takes off and what I have the gumption for.

Yesterday was supposed to be a day to process carrots and tomatillo salsa. I didn’t get very far on either project. My son started school and he brought the creeping crud home so I haven’t felt up to par. And my last excuse for yesterday was the fact that I cleaned the chicken coop in the heat. Ugh. It needed to be warm so it would dry completely before the girls went back in. I gave it a good scrub and gave them new shavings. It smells much better now. But doing that meant I felt pretty yucky from the heat and the head cold crap I have going so I came in and crashed for a while.

I still don’t feel wonderful today but the veggies won’t wait. They don’t care if I don’t feel up to it. I’m thinking I’ll maybe dry some carrots instead of canning today. I still have tomatillo salsa to finish so I’ll be canning that. And I have some hot pepper jelly to fix. It didn’t gel. I hate when that happens.

I see by the time I’d better get the little one up so we can take her brother to school.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

