Not just Maine

http://www.npr.org/2013/09/02/218070371/in-maine-even-with-a-gps-you-cant-get-there-from-here

That is an article about how GPS doesn’t really work in rural Maine. Huh. Go figure folks. It doesn’t really work in most rural areas. Not just the Eastern portion of the country. At my house the computer maps send you through corn fields and along canal roads or send you way around the bluffs through another town that adds about 15-20 miles to your drive instead of just coming down the county road. Where my folks live the computer maps always send you on the old highway that is about 5-10 miles off the main highway. Or the times the computer/GPS just can’t find what you are looking for. When I was travelling a lot for work, and by a lot I mean thousands of miles in a very short time period, I caught some flak for not using a GPS. I had two major reasons. I hate to be messing with a device while I’m driving and the GPS doesn’t give me the big picture. Almost always the first thing I did when getting into a new town or state I picked up a paper map. Give it a good look over and find the things you need to before you ever leave and then you can just drive. Another thing I found with the GPS and looking for airports was that the computer/GPS types always send you to the terminal assuming that is where you need to be. Several of the airports I went to you did not want to take the terminal exit to get to the area I needed to be. Frustrating to figure out mid-way through the terminal area when you are pulling a trailer.

My point is I guess that the new and improved isn’t always a good thing. Especially when you live in an area that they haven’t mapped well for the computers. I guess the companies figure that because there aren’t that many people who live there the street views and the accurate maps can wait. I certainly wouldn’t rely on the electronic stuff in the back country. A good topo map (paper) works very well. And yes, you do need to know how to read a map. Really though a paper map isn’t that different from the electronic ones. Just usually takes in a larger area.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

