Canning Crazy

I am officially in the depths of canning. I have even run out of smaller jars. I haven’t run out of jars in ages. I’m starting to run out of freezer space too. I really need to re-organize that so I can find stuff. Chest freezers aren’t the best for finding things. I’d like to get part of a hog too but I haven’t found one that will be processed reasonably close to me. One I found is going to a processor that is around 2 hours away. By the time I pay the processing, the cost of the animal, and the gas to go get it I may as well buy the meat from the store. Too bad because I’d like to support the person selling the pigs but I just can’t justify it with my bank account.

We might end up raising a pig next year but not this year. I don’t have the right fencing for that yet. Our fences are very much set up for cattle. Barbed wire in four strands. Just not right for pigs, goats, or sheep. It will even do for horses so long as you keep an eye out for wire cuts. It will not hold the others well though. I’m not up for putting that kind of money into our fencing just yet.

Anyway, back to canning. With the CSA share we’ve been getting it has been nice to have a bit more variety than my garden puts out. Especially since the dang aphids came in and knocked out my collards and are starting to attack the Brussels sprouts. I’m blasting them with a garlic spray and the ladybugs have moved in but there sure are a lot of those little bugs. It must be a good aphid year. I saw a bunch on the plants at the place in Montana in June too. I’ve never dealt with aphids before. I wonder why?

But, instead of the garden stuff I’m trying to talk about canning. So far I’ve canned tomato sauce, tomato salsa, tomatillo salsa, carrots, sweet pickle relish, and peaches. I’m canning more tomato sauce today that has garlic and basil in it. I’ve put up some herb salts and dried and frozen zucchini. Also frozen we have peas, carrots, greens, and corn. Oh, I’ve also pickled some beets. I’m trying kraut but I am having fits with it. I can never tell if that stuff is good or bad. So it may be a bust there. I need to process more beets, carrots, onions, and tomatoes. Potatoes too. I think today I will also do some whole/stewed tomatoes in addition to the sauce. Then hopefully tomorrow or this afternoon I can get to beets and maybe the potatoes. I want to pickle some of the onions. I have one basket in the pantry. I’m trying to decide if I need to move that stuff down to the crawl space access in the basement. The top of the basement stairs in this house is a tad warm. I have shallots and garlic put up in dry storage too. I still need to dry herbs.

Tomorrow may be shot for canning since I’m getting a load of firewood in the morning. Looks like I’ll be stacking wood. It is soon to be Fall after all. Somewhere in all of this I need to make sure I’m ready for market on Saturday. I’d better get some spinning done while I let the sauce cook. If I keep listing out my to-dos I’m going to start getting overwhelmed. Rather than that I’d better just start knocking some of it out.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

