Canning has begun

I canned peaches yesterday. My flat top stove stinks for canning. I didn’t have a choice despite knowing it wouldn’t be good. My hot plate that I picked up just won’t get the water to boil. Apparently it has a shut off on it and it won’t maintain that high heat to get the big ol’ canner to boil. Dang! I’ll be trying the propane grill today. I have tomatillo salsa to make and tomatoes to can.

You can see how big the tomatoes have gotten in the picture with my daughter. She is standing in front of the tomatoes, and most of them have actually fallen over. I need to stake them a lot better next year. The pictures are a walk around my garden. Well, the peaches aren’t. They aren’t even from my garden. They are from Colorado via our CSA. Organic and straight from the orchard. A little on the pricey side but so delicious. We’ve eaten a lot fresh too and we got 6 quarts from just under 20 pounds. The box was originally 20 pounds.

I have carrots and onions that need things done too. I’m behind of course. It is the time of year we are always playing catch-up and school starts tomorrow so we’ll have another new schedule to work out. Such as life.

Peaches

Peaches

Peaches

Peaches

Sunflower

Sunflower

Almost ripe

Almost ripe

Sunflower is done

Sunflower is done

Chicken area

Chicken area

Calendula aka Pot Marigold

Calendula aka Pot Marigold

Tomato plants

Tomato plants

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

