Basil Salt

I just had an idea for preserving my basil harvest. Since I have loads of basil this year and I still have basil vinegar I’m thinking I’ll have to try basil salt. I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. There was a gal up in Montana at one of the farmer’s markets that had lots of herbed salts. They are wonderful. In fact I think she called herself Mrs. Wonderful. It was true they were wonderful. I have one that had lovage and something else in it. Yummy.

I have the first round of onions drying on the porch and I harvested some potatoes to check. Looks like it is going to be a rough potato year. That is okay since we don’t eat a ton of them. We do have oodles of carrots though. I better haul up the canning stuff this weekend. I’ll have CSA veg along with the garden to take care of. Tonight we get fresh organic peaches. I can’t wait to have the peaches. I’ll can some, we’ll eat lots, and I may make some peach preserves. We’ll see what I come up with.

As soon as I get a chance to upload some pictures I’ll get them up here. I think I got some good ones of flowers and that around the garden. I think I even managed a decent one or two of the chicken set-up. I’d better see what salt I have and what jars I have to use.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

