Changes

I can feel the air changing. It feels much more like Fall all of a sudden. Mornings are cooler and it gets dark sooner. Now instead of still being hot in the mornings I throw on a sweater. As much as I like summer we are getting into my absolute favorite time of year. School starts, harvest is going on, Halloween is fast approaching, as are the rest of the holidays. The world puts on its Sunday best in the Fall.

The only bad part this year is I’m just not all that motivated for some reason to really get cranking on the preserving. This is not a good thing to lack motivation in right now. I have a ton of carrots that need harvested and put up. I think part of this reluctance is my new pressure canner. I think I’m scared of it. I’ve never used one before and they make me nervous. I’m not sure exactly why they make me so nervous other than the simple fact that I’ve never used one. I do not like the feeling of not knowing what I’m doing. I guess I’d better figure it out and just get on with it.

Besides the carrots I have beets, collards, green beans, potatoes, tomatoes, and herbs that will need taken care of sooner rather than later. Oh, and tomatillos. Later I’ll have parsnips and Brussels sprouts. I also have onions that will need pulled if I can get some good dry days for them to cure. I have the shallots put up and we’ve been getting garlic from our CSA. I also have some cucumbers that I need to use up this week. We seem to have gotten extra cucumbers instead of zucchini. Yay! Finally a week without zucchini. That is only due to the fact that my husband picked up the CSA and declined the zukes. He’s sick of it. The only bummer was that the chicks are loving the zucchini so they are missing out this week. I figure I’ll pick up a couple this week for the chickens.

Speaking of the chickens. They are out in their coop and seem to be doing quite well. I’m still not too sure about letting them run free in their area of the yard since the cats can get in there and the chicks are still pretty small. Also they are small enough to get through the fence on 2 sides and get to where the dogs can get them. I’d really rather not have to deal with that. So, for the most part they are in their coop or in the tractor I built. I was hoping the tractor would attach to the coop but that didn’t quite work. Close but no.

I’d best get it going this morning. Chores will only hold for so long.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

