Summer Harvest Soon

The glut of harvest will truly be on us soon. My freezer is quickly filling with the zucchini and we are sick of zucchini. We’ve tried cooking it several ways and we are just sick of it. Good thing the chickens love it. I don’t know if I can even make myself do any other kind of preserving with it. We have 3 jars of dried which amounts to 9 zucchini. There are well over a dozen cups of it frozen, and there are 4 or 5 loaves of zucchini bread in the freezer. Oh, and I made one jar of zucchini pickles with the same pickling solution and spices from the pickled beets. I’m not sure if those will be any good or not. I’m not going to try them right now because we are all so sick of the zucchini.

On to other veggies. I have a pile of collards that need harvested and frozen. I’ve pretty much given up on peas. Not sure why exactly but our Sugar Snaps have a weird flavor this year so we haven’t eaten many of those. I really should just pull the shelling peas (Little Marvels) and work the bed to get it ready for the strawberries I want to put there. I’m debating a cover crop there too. Just not sure what I want to use.

The tomatoes are starting to ripen. They are also having some sort of wilt/fungus/blight/hopper issue. Obviously I haven’t figured out exactly what their problem is yet. It only seems to be effecting some of them though. My Super Marmande tomatoes are performing beautifully again. I grew them my first year gardening in Montana and really liked them. They are holding true to their reputation. They are a nice round shape, get that perfect tomato red, have a nice flavor, and seem to be pretty resistant to just about every kind of problem. I’m also growing Brandywine, an Italian paste, an orange cherry, a beefsteak, and there might be a Cherokee Purple in there. I can’t remember exactly what I’ve got and I’m terrible about labeling. I might have written it down in my garden journal but you never can tell.

The problem I have with the Super Marmande tomato is that I have a hard time finding the seed. Last time the only place I could find it was from TM Seeds out of the UK. I think I saw that Baker Creek Seed Co. had Marmande seeds last year. I’ll have to double-check this winter. I also have a pile of tomato seeds from my mother-in-law to try out this next year. There look to be some great varieties in there. I’ll have to make sure I actually label so I can seek them out again if I like them. I know, no brainer but I get in a hurry and don’t label.

Speaking of labels. I did try to label my perennials this year. I did alright there. I do see that I’m going to have to move my sage though. Our new dog has decided that right there is where she wants to lay and/or crawl under the porch so the sage is getting squished on a daily basis. Dang dog! I really can’t complain though. It is better than the strawberry patch at the old house where our other dog always laid and the kids always dug in the dirt.

Besides harvesting and preserving that harvest this fall we hope to get at least half a hog for the freezer. I am building a chicken run/tractor to add to the coop. It just needs wire and a door right now. And, I need to figure out how to prune grapes for once they go dormant along with figuring out if they are close enough to the fence to train them up the fence or if I need to put some sort of extra grape trellis in.

Also, my flowers are finally blooming. I have a few zinnias, Calendula, marigolds, cosmos, geraniums, and poppies. I have a ton of sunflower weeds too. I’ve let a lot of them grow and flower. Despite the fact that they are indeed a bit weedy I love the flowers, the color, and the fact that they attract pollinators. I’m hoping I won’t need to let as many of them grow next year but I will still let them. I do like them a lot. My only major issue is that the stems are kind of spiky hairy and that doesn’t feel good when you need to squeeze past one.

I’d better get out there into the garden and get some water on it. It is supposed to be hot again today. The new lavender plants would appreciate some water I’m sure.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

