Hoppers

Dang things are after my tomatoes! And my tomatoes are so big that I had to reinforce my cages. My make-shift cages out of fencing is not working. Even my heavy-duty tomato cages are having a rough go of it with these plants. It has been a good year for the tomatoes. Now if I can just keep the dirty-rotten-grasshoppers out of them. I don’t even dare let the chicks in after them. I’m afraid these hoppers are big enough to pack a chick off.

Speaking of the chicks. They are getting close to big enough to go outside. They are starting to feel pretty cramped in their brooder. Now if I can just get their gate in. I need to put a post in and add some hinges and a latch. The gate is built. I’m also trying to see about having an enclosed run that can double as a tractor. I want them to have a place outside that they will still be protected. Our new pup has an unhealthy interest in the chicks. Well, unhealthy for the chicks at any rate.

For the run/tractor I have my husband working on it. He’s not very happy with me about that. But he’s sweet and he’s willing to try building it for me.

I’d better see about getting my wool dried. I have a huge pile that needs processed so I’m trying to make a few dents here and there on that.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

