Morning

I’m starting to see a few light red tomatoes. Our yellow cherry tomatoes have been providing us with lots of little tomatoes to go on our salads. We’ve had lots of those salads. We are usually getting two heads of lettuce a week in our CSA share. Although we eat a lot of salads we can’t keep up. Good thing the chicks are eating greens now too.

The chicks are growing like crazy. They have lots of new feathers. It won’t be long and I’ll be able to move them into their coop. I still need to get a gate finished for in between the side yard and the garden. Mostly to keep my dogs out of the chickens. Our new pup is way too interested in them. Luckily it looks like the Retriever in her made it so she just sucked on them and didn’t break any skin anywhere when she jumped into their brooder.

I don’t know if I’ve officially introduced them. We have Big Red, Chicken Little, and Goldie. Big Red and Chicken Little are Rhode Island Reds and Goldie is a Buff Orpington. Our pup, Kyra, got in with them a week or so back and sucked on all of them but had Big Red the worst. After I rescued them and held Red for quite awhile while she recovered from the shock of being in a dog’s mouth she is now one of the most friendly chick. As soon as she sees me she comes running over. Little is pretty stand-offish. She has caught up to the others in size but I think having been the little one she is at the bottom of the pecking order. She won’t come over to eat until the others have eaten for a bit. Goldie is kind of flaky. She seems to be the one that takes charge. It will be interesting between her and Red as to which becomes the top chicken. They are all supposed to be girls so lets hope they didn’t get the sex wrong. We don’t have neighbors to bother with a rooster (ours have peacocks so one rooster won’t be a bother) but roosters aren’t any good for egg laying.

I’ll be happy to get the chicks our foraging so they can eat some of our grasshoppers and mosquitos. We have a ton of mosquitos. They all seem to be living in the tomato plants. Ugh. And the hoppers here are crazy big. I thought I had seen big grasshoppers before. I’ve never seen hoppers that are 4 inches long, 2 inches tall, and a solid inch around. And the colors! Greens, reds, and oranges. Amazing. It stinks that they munch stuff. They are cool looking critters but kind of creepy too.

So it is looking like I have a pile of chores to do today. No matter how much I don’t want to do the chores. Plus I have a farmer’s market to finish getting ready for. Mostly I need to finish up the wooly balls I make. They are selling fast. I need to get more made.

I suppose I should head off to get started. I guess that means I should get dressed and get my canning stuff organized and my fencing materials together.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

