Life gets in the way.

As of my last post I had all sorts of plans for food stuffs. Hmmm… I got some of it done but I didn’t get to it all by any means. I need to deal with beets especially. The zucchini has slacked off. Well, rather I didn’t get as much of it this Friday when I picked up our CSA. I could have but I couldn’t stomach dealing with more of it. I got 3 of them to make some more zucchini bread. They are still sitting on the counter because I ran out of eggs. I’ve requested that my husband pick eggs up while he’s in town today. I’ve been trying to get eggs from a neighbor until my chicks start laying but they weren’t home when I stopped in the other day.

Besides not getting to a lot of my to-do list I’ve been volunteering time for our soon-to-be co-op grocery store. They are due to open sometime next month and need help building shelves and cleaning shelves. They got some shelves from a store going out of business or something so the shelves have sticky stuff on them from that store’s signage etc. I’m very excited a co-op is opening near us. I really dislike that our money situation makes it so we shop at the dreaded Walmart. When I can I buy locally but sometimes the pocketbook just doesn’t allow me to. I know it is better for us to eat organic/natural/un-conventional foods but there are times I have to make the choice of what I can do that with or not.

I’m hoping we can put enough together this fall to buy a hog from a local producer. I would much rather do that than shop at that awful store. This is also why I’m doing the CSA and raising a garden. I believe in the local and organic push but I still have to be practical. Paying around $8 per pound for meat just isn’t feasible on our budget. Not on a regular basis. We don’t have it set up to raise our own yet either. As I’m sitting here thinking it would be really nice to see about going in with someone else on a hog. I don’t know if my freezer is big enough for a whole one. Not with all the other stuff I have in there.

At any rate with working at the co-op from time to time it means I’m meeting a lot more of the producers and may be able to work some sort of deal to get meat in my freezer that doesn’t have all the other garbage in there. I would like to add more fruit to what we get/produce organically too. We are on the hunt for apple trees at the moment. I think I missed the window on a lot of the sales there though. The trees all seem to be gone or look horrible. I have one more nursery to check if I can ever get over there. Actually I should run over there this week in conjunction with dropping off some paperwork for my son’s school.

Add all that to the fact that I still haven’t managed to get down and pick chokecherries. I did manage to get my kraut transferred to jars and another batch started in my big bucket. I now have 5 pints of kraut working in the fridge and probably another 5 started in the bucket. In fact I need to check that today and make sure it is all covered and weighted correctly. All the cabbage has got to be under the brine created or else it rots instead of fermenting. This is something else I’m getting from our CSA. The cabbage is from them and they have a gal from Germany that has been living on the farm and has been giving classes on fermenting and baking. I haven’t managed to make a class but I have managed to pick their brains about making kraut.

I’ve gotten kraut making crossed off my list and that is about it really. Kind of pathetic. I did get some photos taken of my yarn the other day for my hand spun yarn business but I need to get some more on a different background. I’m not sure I like what came out yesterday. Once I get that done I get to spend some time listing them on Etsy and working on making sure I’m ready for the farmer’s market on Saturday. That has been a very fun venture. I’m loving getting to talk to all the people involved in the market.

Soon I’ll have a pile of tomatoes to add to all this processing. At least I finally got a hot plate so I can do my canning. I have a flat top stove and don’t want to take chances on the temperatures being correct. I guess I’d better get myself in gear instead of procrastinating yet again.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life gets in the way.

  1. Emma says:

    Ahhh yes the balancing act of where and what you want against the real life limitations of time and money. One step at a time and you will get to where you want to be, at least thats what I tell myself 😉

  2. Isn’t real life a bugger? If only life would follow the dreams. It really does it just takes longer than we would like. I really don’t mind. It has been time to slow down and take things step by step. This just reminds me to do that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

