Oh boy oh zucchini.

I am so sick of zucchini. Ugh. I didn’t even plant any and yet I have zucchini everywhere. Our CSA planted zucchini and they are piling it on. I’m really not complaining. This is the hate part of a love/hate relationship is all. I love harvest season. Really I do. The piles of wonderful garden fresh produce, the shelves filling up, and the little bit of security for upcoming winter. The problem is the mass amounts of hot cooking in the middle of the hottest part of the year. That and the sheer quantity of stuff. Whew!

I know I will be thankful for this stuff come winter time. I’m excited to be able to fix greens at Christmas. I love putting up my own cranberry sauce, my own apple sauce, my own tomatoes and tomato sauce. I just get a bit overwhelmed. There are days you just don’t feel like doing any processing but the food shelf life (or rather lack thereof) demands that it be done.

I’m hoping the chokecherries last until tomorrow. I need to go pick a bunch from the end of our road so I can make some chokecherry syrup for pancakes this winter. It has been years since I’ve had chokecherry syrup. It is a flavor of my childhood. Chokecherries really aren’t any good for anything other than syrup or jelly. They really do kind of make you choke. They are a little bitter and something in them makes your mouth feel fuzzy. Sounds wonderful huh? Not really but they do make a lovely syrup and jam.

I’ve also discovered a small patch of wheat and a couple of large patches of ground cherries on our property. I cut the wheat yesterday with a snath and scythe that my mom brought me. I also threshed a little. Whew! That is a lot of work. It is no wonder they would leave the threshing for a winter project and eventually combines came about. I can’t even imagine how much work that would require to harvest even an acre of wheat. I had a very small patch. Ugh. I am excited though because it means I have seed that I can use to either plant a patch next year and/or I can give the grains to my chickens.

I’m not sure on the ground cherries yet. They aren’t quite ripe yet. I at least have a little time to figure out some recipes. I do also have a head of cabbage I need to do something with. Maybe I should learn to make cabbage burgers that they make around here. The other two heads of cabbage I had are sitting and becoming kraut. This is my first attempt at kraut. I think it is working correctly but I’m not entirely sure.

Well, the zucchini is now blanched and cooling so I can freeze another big batch. I forgot to blanch the other ones I froze so I’ll use them to make zucchini bread sooner rather than later. I suppose I should pull beets too and pickle a jar or two. It is actually kind of cool this morning so I might manage to get some of this done today.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh boy oh zucchini.

  1. Emma says:

    Sounds like you need a pig 😉 What could be better than turning zucchini into bacon! Chickens enjoy zucchini as well.

Leave a Reply

