Garden Update

I have the biggest tomato plants I’ve ever had. They are almost as tall as I am. I guess the piles of manure and straw I dressed the tomato bed with has helped. Along with the warm weather and moisture we’ve been getting the plants are doing very well. My Brussels Sprouts are huge too. Actually everything is doing very well. The weeds are too unfortunately.

So far the dogs seem to be keeping the bunny damage to a minimum. Outside the fence I don’t know about but within the fence the bunnies don’t seem to be getting to things too badly. The grapes are coming along nicely. I don’t know if we’ll get any grapes this year or not. With the way the beets, collards, and peas are coming I need to spend the day working of food production. I have all the CSA vegetable to process along with our garden stuff. That of course includes zucchini. Lots of zucchini. I’ve been getting somewhere around 10 zucchini (or more) a week from our CSA. This means we have a lot of zucchini in the freezer and dried. I haven’t been able to convince myself to make relish yet.

I’m debating putting in fall crops. I know I should but I don’t know if I’m going to. I’m not sure what I would plant. I haven’t ever done fall crops so I’m not sure what I want in the mix.

Thinking about the mix made me remember that I’m starting to get some flowers blooming. Calendula and zinnias. It looks like the cosmos will be awhile yet. I’m excited to get some color into the garden. We do have sunflowers as weeds in addition to the others so we have some color there. I’ve left a lot of the sunflowers instead of pulling them all. They attract bees and other good bugs and they are pretty pops of colors in a pretty monochromatic garden.

I’m excited for the garden to be more developed. I’m already looking forward to this winter’s seed catalogs and the planning. I’m sure by sometime next month I will be incredibly sick of the garden and harvesting but I get over that by about January. I’m thinking I’ll have to get one of the perennial flower garden packages for just outside my garden fence. I may have to add a second fence though so the bunnies don’t munch the little plants. We have tulip plants that came up there but we did not get a single tulip. Bummer.

I think I’d better get moving this morning. I have a pile of zucchini waiting for me. I have eggs so I’d better build some more zucchini bread. I only have about 4 days before I end up with more zucchini.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

