Books

As I’ve been playing online and outside my mind keeps mulling over ideas. Some sort of book keeps coming to mind but I don’t know if it would be worth it. I know it is easier to get published these days what with self-publishing but I don’t know if the market is saturated or not. I know I love books but it sure seems like there are a lot of books all covering basically the same things.

It is the little things that bother me about most gardening books. Most books I pick up are almost all plant lists. This is great to have in one book, not every single book. I seem to remember seeing somewhere that most gardening books in the U.S. are this way but not as much in the U.K. or elsewhere in the world. I wonder why. If you go to the homesteading/farming books they seem to be heavy on selecting land as opposed to doing what you can where you can. They are very specific and in-depth on one subject or they are vague little snippets of everything.

I’m not saying I can do a better job I’m just stating things that bother me about different books. It feels like if I’ve read one, I’ve read them all. I think this is my concern about writing one. I’m afraid I would be writing the same book as everyone else. The first year’s as a homesteader/farmer have been done. The gardening books have been done. The animal husbandry books have been done. My thoughts are to try to write the one that hasn’t been done. But how do I go about doing that? Even the books for kids, about kids, and with kids have been done. Hmmmm… See this is where I stumble when thinking about writing something like this. Maybe I should try just writing for myself instead of on the blogs for the world to see, at least on the side, and see what comes about.

In the mean time I’ll keep mulling over ideas. While I do that I suppose I should actually get to work around here. I have a few more zucchini to take care of before we get another pile of it tomorrow.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

