Things going on around here.

I have been pretty lax toward my garden lately. I really haven’t been weeding other than an occasional pull here or there. There are peas that need picked and herbs that need harvested and either frozen or dried. I just haven’t been there though.

This week and last we’ve had swim lessons for the kiddos which means we are in town every evening for a couple of hours. It sure puts a kink in the routine. It means supper is earlier, bed time is later, and when I would normally be getting stuff done I’m at the pool with the kids. I am not complaining mind you. Just explaining what has put a kink in things.

In addition to swim lessons we’ve had all these new little animals come into our life and I’m starting my hand spun yarn business. It has been pretty crazy around here to say the least. I don’t remember for sure if I’ve put it here but we now have 2 dogs, 2 kittens, and 3 chicks. These are all in addition to a 2-year old and a 5-year old. At least the kids are good about helping out with chores. They usually feed the dogs and help feed the cats. We just got the chicks today so we’ll see where we end up there on help.

I don’t know about anyone else but I’d much rather play with the animals and in the garden than do the house stuff too. My poor house needs cleaning something fierce. I just don’t wanna! It is amazing how quickly it reverts right back to being dirty after you clean. With kids and dogs running through the house there really is no hope. And then you add my husband and I to it. It is doomed. Which I suppose that means I am too.

On another subject briefly. I just looked out the window and am seeing all the cheat grass we have. I’m going to have to do something about grazing that down next spring. It isn’t any good to graze now that it has gone to seed and dried out. My worry is that we’ll get a lightning strike that will start a fire. We’ll just have to watch closely during storms.

Off to see what I can get accomplished today. Even if it is just a nap.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

