Food Production

It is that time of year. The farmer’s market is brimming with food, the garden is full, and the CSA share we have is full of mostly zucchini. To be honest right now I’m pretty sick of zucchini. I didn’t even plant any this year and yet I have zucchini everywhere. I have made zucchini bread, frozen zucchini, and dried zucchini. That is just the stuff we are putting up so far. I have also had zucchini in every salad and usually some sort of grilled, roasted, or baked zucchini with our dinners. Each week I’ve gotten 6 or more zucchini in our CSA share. I’m pretty excited right now I am down to 3 in my refrigerator that I need to do something with. I’ll probably make another round of zucchini bread to freeze. It tastes good, freezes well, and is really handy to pull out if you have a surprise round of company or function that you need a good for.

Totals so far:

Dried zucchini: 2 jars done each equaling about 3 med. zucchini with another round on the tray right now
Frozen/shredded zucchini: 7 cups each in individual bags
Zucchini bread: Baked 4 Frozen 2
Peas: 5 bags frozen
Greens: 5 bags frozen of various types that include beet, collards, chard, and turnip
One ice-cube tray of basil frozen and more to come of cilantro (lots more)
I’m also drying parsley at the moment

Soon I will have more basil ready and the tomatoes will come on hopefully here soon. I want to pickle onions, don’t think I want to pickle zucchini but may resort to that, and I need tomato sauce and salsa. I would also like to try to dry potatoes and can potatoes this year.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

