A Poll for my Readers

I’ve been trying to decide a couple of things. Maybe my readers can help me out here. What would you like to see more of? Photos? How-to stuff in the garden? Just what I’m up to in the garden or with the food processing? I ask because I know many of my favorite blogs are rather specific subjects and then I do have a few that are all sorts of eclectic when it comes to their posting topics. So please comment. Let me know what you like/dislike hearing about.

I am about to embark into the canning season for the year. With the CSA share that we have in addition to my garden I have a ton of stuff to do. I’m going to try my hand at kraut in a bucket. I have two heads of cabbage that we just won’t get to. Not what with all the zucchini (I sure am glad I didn’t plant any) we have to get through. I put up about 5 bags of greens in the freezer to use later this winter.

I think at least my tentative blogging subjects will cover my kraut making trials and some sort of record of my canning. I need to start keeping better track of that inventory so I know what I have and next year I’ll know what to plant or not.

I also keep reading articles regarding farming methods, both conventional and organic. I have many thoughts on this but I haven’t decided how much I do or don’t want to discuss those thoughts. My reasoning is simple. Although I appreciate what activists do I do not want to become one. I dislike folks telling me what to do so I see no reason to do the very thing I don’t like in others. We all have our own methods of doing things that works for us. Not to say that I think the topic needs ignored. Just that I don’t want to become an activist either way.

And one last note: I’m getting chickens next week!

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Poll for my Readers

  1. Emma says:

    I would enjoy hearing about a little bit of everything. I like to read about what other people do with their “farms” (regardless of size) to gather ideas for our place and practices. In the end this is your blog and your life and you will do/share what you are most comfortable with. There will always be that person in the crowd that disagrees with this or that. There are no hard and fast rules in this game so its best to gather as much first hand experience and then make your own choices.

Leave a Reply

