To do list keeps getting longer

Why does it always get longer this time of year? Oh yeah, the garden. For example: I need to harvest peas, collards, beets, and snap peas today. This means I need to find my canning stuff for the beets. I’ll pickle them. And I won’t be planting any next year. I only plant beets about every other year. My husband and kids aren’t super fond of them and I can only eat so many before I’m sick of them. So I plant, harvest, pickle, and then I have beets for about a year.

The weeds on the paths that we just got cleared need mowing again. Either the new dog or another critter keeps knocking over tomato plants. That is going to have to quit. I need to get a hot plate so I can do my canning. My flat top stove isn’t good for canning. They don’t get things hot enough consistently enough and the heavy pots can crack the glass top. They are great for clean-up but not so great for canning. I suppose I should make sure I can find all my canning accessories too. Towels, lids, rings, jars, ladle, canners, and funnel all need to be found.

After taking a break from here to get breakfast for my crew I realized that I still have a pile of zucchini in the fridge and a cabbage to take care of. I wonder if I could make sauerkraut in a plastic food grade bucket? They are a heck of a lot cheaper than the fermenters. I would love one of the good German fermenter crocks but that isn’t going to happen for a while.

We’ve had some nice warm days and nights. Around 95 during the day and still up around 60 or so at night. The tomatoes and tomatillos are loving it. We got rain yesterday and last night too. That makes it nice for growing things.

I think I may have identified the bushes we have in our little ravine. I think they are Silver Buffaloberry along with some currants. I’m not entirely sure yet so I won’t be harvesting until I know for sure. You can apparently make some jam/jelly and syrup from the Buffaloberry. The chokecherries are just about ripe too. I’ll probably head down to the chokecherry bush by the mailboxes and pick those so I can make syrup for pancakes this winter. Yummy.

It will be interesting to see when I start to get grapes. All 6 of my grapes are growing nicely. I thought I had lost one but there is new growth coming up from the roots. All around the grapes I have sunflowers (weeds around here) and poppies. My favorite are the pink poppies. It is nice getting some color coming in. I’m working on getting more color into the back yard as we go. I have to keep reminding myself that it will be a few years before I have much established.

Ok. I’d better get going so I can get started on that to do list. Maybe I can make it shrink instead of grow.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

