Feeling the Fall push already.

Got the chicken coop secured today. At least I hope so. We do get some wicked winds around here so I hope it doesn’t go flying with any girls inside. I am hoping to go get chickens this weekend. I’ve found some on Craigslist that are pullets. That should work just right. Why not pile it on right? We just got two kittens and a puppy so now all we need are the chickens. Then we should be set for chores for a while.

Now that my garden can see the light of day again I have plenty of work there too. I’ve gotten a couple of bags of peas into the freezer and it looks like I need to get another round of harvesting done. It sounds like I need to make sure I have baking supplies too. Our CSA has zucchini now. Lots of it. That is one thing I didn’t plant so I won’t argue about getting lots. I’ll just bake zucchini bread and maybe dry some. I really need to get a dehydrator again. Dried stuff takes up so much less room than canned goods.

It is getting to the time of year where I can feel the pressure for the up coming Fall. I know, we just got through Spring. It is one of those feelings you get though. I start to feel the need to stock up for the coming Winter and the 4th of July is a signal that Summer is half over. Eek! I still need to get me a hot plate set up so I can get the canning kitchen going. So much to do.

Let’s see, before I totally panic about what I need to do but haven’t I’ll update on the garden a bit more. The lettuce is just about done. It has gotten hot and the lettuce doesn’t care for hot weather. The radishes are done as they are flowering and building seed pods. I’m letting a couple of them go so I don’t need to buy seed for radishes. I never have gotten my dill in. I wonder if I still could get some going? I might do a little experiment with that. Peas are going great guns but they’ll be done soon too. The cilantro needs used just about every day to keep it from bolting. I wonder how it is dried? The tomatoes are blooming like crazy and setting fruit. Let’s just hope it gets ripe and hail misses us. Knock-on-wood, so far we’ve been spared. What else? I need to get going on the beets. I have them and we are starting to get them in our CSA as well. I should see if I can find my pickled beet recipe and get going with that.

The onions and potatoes are coming along nicely. The herbs are getting there but are a bit slow since I started them from seed. Well, other than the cilantro. I wonder if I mulch the basil a bit if it would pick up?

I’d better get myself in gear. Today is our CSA pick up day and I have other errands that need run as well.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

