Home and weeds.

Gone for 3 weeks and the weeds have taken over like something out of a horror movie. They were well over 3 feet tall. We have whacked them down and pulled several. There are still lots along the edges that need pulled and/or weed whacked. We’ll do that maybe in the morning tomorrow. It is hot here. While we were gone we were in the mid-70s and even down into the 60s or lower once or twice. We came home to 98 degrees F. Holy moly! Good thing we had our water set up on a timer. The weeds were loving the water. All the wonderful green we had going is now mostly brown too.

I can tell we are getting into the main part of summer. The heat is cranked and my harvest is starting. I just threw the first bag of peas into the freezer. I got a full 2 cups of peas from our shelling peas. I didn’t even pick them all yet. I figure I’ll pick some every morning. I need to get over to the other side and get some of the sugar snaps picked too. We’ll eat those fresh though.

I see my work is beginning to get cranking. Between our CSA and my garden I’m going to be a busy girl for the next couple of months. I need to get my hot plate set up too so I can get going on some canning as well. I keep trying to decide if my back porch or front porch will work better for an outdoor canning kitchen. The front patio and porch is more stable but the back is in the garden and has power but is in the sunshine too.

I see I have beets that I’m going to need to harvest in the next week or so too. Guess we’ll be eating lots of greens. My radishes have bolted, the carrots are up and need thinned, the lettuce needs picked and is about to bolt, the tomatoes have flowers and a few green tomatoes, the tomatillos are going well, the peas are producing like crazy, the potatoes are up but haven’t flowered yet, parsnips are up, onions are getting big but not bulbing much yet, I’ve lost the garlic in the weeds, and the strawberries might be cooked.

We’ve had bunnies in the garden too. I found bunny pellets (poop) under my tomato plants while I was weeding. We have several toads that live in the garden. I guess I’ll need to actually close my gate to help keep the bunnies out.

I will hopefully get my pictures uploaded tonight or tomorrow of the crazy weeds. I took a before and after shot of the weeds. For now I’d better see what I can do about a lawn mower that is being temperamental, laundry that needs done, and make sure we are ready to go to a friend’s house for dinner. We are home and now hopefully between weeding in the garden and spinning wool I can get this updated with some good garden stuff. I picked up some ideas for garden blog entries while we were on vacation too.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

