Mind wanderings

I have to get a timer for my water. We are taking a trip this summer and won’t be around to water. I don’t want my garden to dry up and blow away so we’ll install a timer.

I still haven’t gotten any beans in. I still need to put up a trellis of sorts for my snap peas, and I still need to take pictures of my branch pea trellis system. I’m behind I know. I’m also trying to get ready for the farmer’s market. It starts in June. I won’t do the June markets but I will be doing the July market. I have lots to do in order to get ready for that. Labels and tags are the big thing right now. I need to figure out some pricing too.

I’d like to come up with an official logo but I think I need to let that evolve rather than forcing one. Mostly right now I’m focused on getting product going so I’m spinning quite a bit. Soon I’ll be setting yarns and maybe even doing some dying.

When I’m not doing that I’m out pulling weeds in the garden. We have so many weeds! I can’t believe the amount of the weeds. Our place is green but not with grass. It is almost all weeds. So I spend lots of time on my hands and knees pulling weeds from between all the little seedlings in the garden. At least the bunnies seem to be leaving the main garden alone. They seem happy to munch the tulips. There is a whole row of tulips that someone planted and there isn’t a single flower. I think the bunnies are having quite the nighttime snack. Hopefully once we are back and have some cats that will help with the bunnies too.

Speaking of cats that reminds me that I need to empty mouse traps again. Yuck. I’ll be happy to let a couple of cats do their job and capture mice. We have a ton of mice. So far I don’t think they’ve made it into the house but they sure have the garage. I hate mice. I can deal with bunnies. At least their excrement doesn’t stink. Mice can stink up a place in a hurry. They are all varmints though. Cute, but varmints. So kitties will be in order when we return. A couple of barn kittens that are good mousers. If they won’t mouse they don’t need to be here. I don’t like cats very well but I need them here.

Another animal I will be getting is chickens. Hopefully they’ll help with the ants. We have so many ants. I can think of two red ant colonies just in the side yard and there are numerous other colonies down the drive and out in the pasture. The chickens should like those guys as a snack. We have black ants too but not in the same sized colonies as the red ones. Red ants bite too. Really hard. I’d forgotten what an ant bite is like. I hadn’t been bitten since I was a little kid and then the other day one of the dang things crawled up my pant leg and bit me. Yeow! Then it itched for days. I still have a mark and that was a week or two ago that I was bitten. I’ll be happy to see those guys munched by the chickens.

I would also like to see about getting guineas. Lots of people say they are good for keeping snakes away in addition to being good bug patrol. I’m all for keeping snakes away from the house. Two little kids and I’d really rather snakes didn’t come close.

And to top it all off it is time for us to get a younger dog to help our old border collie in his patrols. Our old guy just doesn’t hear people come in the drive anymore. He’s ready to retire. He is 12 after all. He is still pretty active and healthy just aging. We are looking for a pup that will get good-sized and be able to help fend off coyotes once we get livestock. We’ll see what folks have once we return. We don’t feel like travelling with a new puppy in a truck that is already going to be cramped.

I’d better get to packing, cleaning, and general getting ready to travel. I suppose I should finish up the laundry too so we’ll have clothes for our trip.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Family, Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

