Morning Reading

Here is one of the reasons genetically modified foods make me question things. I was reading this article on NPR about a farmer finding genetically modified wheat in his field. He didn’t plant it. It brings a multitude of questions into the picture for me.

Why do we as humans feel we need to play some sort of higher being and control everything around us?

What are the true ramifications of messing with our food supply in this manner?

Why do we always feel we need to spend more and more money to make money?

I don’t have answers for this stuff. I do know that I try to grow open pollinated varieties in my garden and avoid the GMO stuff. I have some seeds that have come to me through various routes that I’m sure have been messed with. I’m not so flush with money that I will turn down free seeds or anything so they get used. I just try to make it a habit not to buy stuff I know has GMO stuff involved.

I do understand that there are benefits to an individual yield when you can spray with the chemicals to kill the weeds and your crops won’t die from it, but that does make a person wonder about what else does that crop do. There are times that things should die. I know that in this world of mechanized farming it isn’t practical to be pulling weeds or anything but there are other methods of weed control.

It just seems to me that we should maybe not rely so heavily on chemicals, machines, and other such modern things that make life easier in the short-term but maybe not in the long-term. Even the computers that we all love (I’m as guilty as the next person). I think so much of our modern conveniences get to a point where they actually hurt our society.

No, I don’t have a terrible rant against Monsanto or anyone else but I do think that we should all seriously consider the ramifications of our decisions. Whether it be about our food, our healthcare, or our method of entertainment.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

