Tornadoes, Weeds, and First Harvests

I just don’t know where to start. We had a tornado yesterday. A small one several miles North of us but close enough to make us think twice. We have water and blankets in the basement but that is about it. Boy we need to get shelves down there and get cracking on some food storage and supplies. And little things need done like sharpening pocket knives. Maybe I’ll make that an evening project tonight.

We have weeds. Oh boy do we have weeds! I spent quite a while out in the garden just before dinner on my hands and knees pulling weeds from the radishes and carrots. I haven’t spent much time over there since I wanted the carrots to sprout before I went too crazy on the weeds. Good thing I did. I can actually see where the seeds have germinated now so I don’t pull the carrots. My onions and the greens still need some weeding but I’ve kept up over there a bit better. I’ve managed to get the peas mostly weeded as well.

I discovered today that my four-year old loves kale. I had started some in a container back in February. The kale is finally up and getting big enough that I picked a leaf and had him try it. He proceeded to pick the rest of the leaves and eat them. So much is gone I’m not sure the plants will live. That is okay. We just planted another patch of kale just for him. We also harvested several radishes to go in a salad tonight.

These are the things that make me love having a garden. The fact that my kids eat the greens and salads and fruits more than anything. In fact tonight we had rice crispy peanut butter treats on the counter along with strawberries. The kids kept sneaking into the kitchen to eat, not the treats but the strawberries. That makes me happy. I can’t wait until the peas are ready because I know the kids will eat the peas. I may have to sow some more so I can actually get some into the freezer. Of course then I’ll need to make more pea trellises. I’ve been making them out of some tree branches we trimmed earlier this year. I’m almost done with the one side of the garden and still need to get the snap pea side of the garden done.

I’ll see about getting some pictures over the next day or two of the trellises. It has been pretty wet for taking pictures. Great for seed germination though. I hope it keeps raining periodically through our vacation so I don’t come home to dead plants. I’m hoping to get a bunch of weeding done before we leave too so I don’t have too many weeds run me out of the garden.

Well, I’m off to work on some knitting projects. I do believe I’m going to try doing our local farmer’s market this year. Not full-time mind you. Just about 3 Saturdays. I don’t think I have the inventory yet to do more. We shall see. Of course I won’t have enough inventory for even 3 if I don’t get myself in gear.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Family, Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

