Even more planting

I had some freebie money for one of our home improvement stores the other day so I went and got plants. I got some catmint, sage (not culinary), black-eyed susan, and a one more that I can’t remember the name of right now. Those were the perennial flowers. I also got an oregano and two strawberry plants. The strawberries flower in pink. I’ve never seen those before. Kinda pretty. They aren’t heirloom or anything but they are cool and they were more or less free.

Speaking of the heirloom thing… I try to go with open pollinated heirlooms because I’d like to be able to save seeds. Plus I like the idea that I can grow something my grandparents or their grandparents could have grown. I admit there are some advantages to the hybrids though, especially when it comes to shorter growing seasons. Some areas in and around the Rocky Mountains just don’t have the growing season for a lot of the heirlooms. Tomatoes are next to impossible in a lot of areas unless you have a greenhouse of some sort.

Where my mom lives is a perfect example. Peas, potatoes, and carrots are about all that will grow there. She sits at about 6200 feet about sea level and they can get freezes any time of the year. I’ve been there when they had snow every month of the year fall on the valley floor. My mom pretty much quit gardening when even her peas and carrots froze. She still grows trees and a few hardy flowers but no veggie garden. She has a sun room that I think she should use. I think she likes the freedom of not having a garden and it is just her so there is no driving urge for less expensive food.

Not like me. I have two little ones that try to eat me out of house and home. They especially love fruit and vegetables. I have an ever dwindling pocket-book so the garden is my attempt at making that money disappear a little slower. I’m very excited to start getting our first lettuce and radishes. They are both up but need to grow. I discovered that my son loves radishes the other day. Thank goodness because I have a bunch that I planted and my husband and I are not overly thrilled with them.

On with garden progress. The grapes and the apricot are starting to leaf out. Radishes, lettuce, and peas are up. Tomatoes are doing okay although it looks like a couple might have gotten nailed by cutworms. I didn’t collar the plants so I knew I was taking chances. We’ll see if I lose any this year. I have about 20 in so I can probably afford to lose one or two. The onions and shallots are growing like crazy. The thyme I put in for borders seems to be doing okay. Asparagus doesn’t appear to be doing anything. It may have frozen out since right after I planted we got all the snow. I have carrots in a container that are doing well and a little kale in a small container that is doing all right. I should probably put some more kale in the garden but I’m going to hold off until I find out what all is going to come in our CSA share. I still want to put my dill in this garden but I haven’t decided where I want my dill weed. It really is a weed so I want to be a bit careful about where it goes.

I’m also trying to plan a flower garden. I just can’t decide where I want them. I’m thinking about one of my inner beds of the back garden. I would love to be able to have cut flowers available all summer and I want to attract lots of bees. Besides I’ve toyed with the idea of having bees, so they would need something to eat.

It looks like the thunderstorms are rolling in this morning. I guess I’ll use this morning to finish painting my chicken coop in the garage. Then I can move it out to its spot in the side yard. I should paint my gates too so I can put those up.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

