More Planting

And the weeding has begun. I had to hoe the rows of peas and onions especially. I didn’t go too crazy with the carrots and radishes. I just broadcasted those seeds so I don’t want to disturb things too much over there. Today I added parsley, savory, marjoram, basil (sweet and opal), peppers, nasturtiums, and some thyme seeds. All of this is very much an experiment. I’ve never started this stuff from seed in the garden other than the nasturtiums. We’ll see how they do. I also added some more peas in the areas that didn’t germinate so well. I can’t complain about a lack of germination. Those seeds were free. Last fall a farm and ranch store around here was having a big sale and in addition to that they had a cart full of seeds for free. I filled my arms with everything I could carry. Some of the seeds were those coated ones that I’m not thrilled with but they make cheap experiments.

So let’s see… I now have the following in the garden:

peas
carrots
tomatoes
tomatillos
onions
shallots
marjoram
savory
basil
nasturtiums
peppers
strawberries
chives
sage
asparagus
lettuce
radishes
lemon balm
Brussels sprouts
garlic
collards
beets
spearmint
lavender
grapes
apricot tree

I think I got everything thus far. I’d still like to add beans, potatoes, parsnips, and more herbs. I had parsnip seeds but now I can’t find them. Figures. I need to haul more straw/manure for where I want the potatoes and it has been too hot to do much hauling or weeding. Today was weeding so maybe tomorrow will be a good day for hauling.

I want to add lots of flowers as well but lots of them are perennial and I want to make sure they are going where I want them to stay for a while. Speaking of perennials I found the last owners rhubarb the other day. This reminds me I need to move the water over there tonight. Plus I had the kids throw some pumpkins and sunflowers in the ground over there too. It gave my son and his friend a good activity to do while I made lunch. I don’t care if the stuff comes up or not but it will be fun if it does.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

