Winter to Summer

I think somebody forgot Spring. Holy moly it got hot! We’ve had days in the mid-90s lately. My poor little tomatoes are having a rough go of it. Poor things are getting cooked. They’ll learn to love it so long as I can keep some water on them.

I found a rhubarb patch!! We had four areas marked out with poles that we couldn’t figure out. There didn’t appear to be anything there until I went out today. Rhubarb! Pies and other goodies here we come. I’m tickled to find that. Now I wonder what else we’ll find.

The tulips still haven’t bloomed. I need to pull the grass out of that bed. Of course that is about the only place I have grass. All the places I want the grass it is bare and where I want the flowers there is a pile of grass growing. I guess you can’t win for losing.

I am killing 3 birds with one stone at the moment. Getting my writing done, waiting my daughter out (she is having her quiet time), and avoiding the heat. It is only about 80 in the house. We are going to have to service our AC unit since it isn’t keeping up with this heat. It helps, but it sure isn’t cool. The worst thing about this heat? I need to bake bread. I’m beginning to think I need to look into the solar or outdoor ovens. I know I will be happy to have a canning kitchen outside. I was thinking that it would work on the South porch but I’m beginning to think that it might be better to use the North patio. There is shade and cement for an even work surface. It won’t be conveniently in the garden but it may work better in the long run.

I’ve still yet to get a separate burner set for that kitchen. I need to hit some of the yard sales and see what folks have. Maybe that is what we’ll do this weekend. I also ended up having my favorite canning/soup ladle break the other day so I’ll be on the lookout for another one. I have a giant stainless ladle that works well for the tomatoes but I do like the shorter one as well.

I suppose since we are completely out of bread I’d better go mix up another batch. I think I’m going to try to find a recipe for soda crackers too. Homemade crackers are yummy but I don’t make them too often.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

