Who turned it to Summer?

You wouldn’t think just the other weekend I was grousing about all the snow. It is now pushing 70 degrees F and supposed to stay that way through the weekend. I’d better get a move on in the garden. Of course I still have to be careful as our frost-free day average is still a month away but that month will fly by.

I’m still debating if it is worth spending money on my tiller either to fix it or replace it or if I should just rent one or pay someone to do the last four beds. I know there are debates on tilling or not tilling. The first round I till. It is just that much easier to break up very compacted soil. After the initial one I don’t usually till a whole lot. Once in the Spring to turn things under. Otherwise I leave it alone. Mostly because I’m too lazy to do more and secondly I don’t like the noise. I’ve had enough damage to my hearing as it is and I don’t like to add more.

Things are getting greener by the day. I’ve got water going on the trees today. Especially the two new little evergreens. I will water the back with the apricot and the grapes this evening. I’m hoping to get some more of my veggies planted. Carrots, lettuce, radishes, kale, and parsnips can probably all go in. I keep debating cabbage. We aren’t huge cabbage fans other than kraut and I don’t have a good crock to ferment in at this point. I have a couple of small jars but not enough to do any amount of cabbage.

I’m also a bit worried. I think I may have mentioned this before, but I have a lot of caterpillars. I don’t know them well enough to know what they turn into and almost all caterpillars munch garden veggies big time. I’m gonna have to get those chickens a.s.a.p. I’d love to have them now but it just won’t work. I’ve already heard the grasshoppers going too. I thought I had competition before for my garden goodies. Nothing like this. I had some slugs and earwigs but that was about it. Now I have deer, rabbits, caterpillars, doves, blue jays, robins, finches, pheasant, and a large population of other song birds I haven’t identified yet. Oh, and grasshoppers and maybe wild turkeys. Along with the possibility of slugs and earwigs and who knows what else that gets attracted by all the crop land around. At least I’m not right on top of other crop land.

It makes it better for competition critters and for avoiding the chemicals. Conventional farming can make me shudder. I understand why it is done and have even resorted to conventional methods at times in my own garden but I don’t like it any better. I really don’t want my kids, animals, or garden catching overspray. It is one thing if I choose a conventional method but another entirely if it is something I choose not to do and yet get the chemicals anyway.

Well, someone is maybe almost done with lunch and might just let me go play in the garden for a bit before we have to go pick up big brother from school.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

