Driving

I took a little drive after dropping my son off at school.  My daughter had fallen asleep so I figured we may as well drive and let her get a decent nap.  There is a loop up behind my place that I’d been told about.  There is an old trading post up there, some pioneer graves, and a pretty country.

What I’d been told was correct.  I was a little bummed there isn’t more information about the trading post.  Apparently they knew it was there but there really were no survivors of any kind to pass on information so even the actual building appeared to be a replica.  I was hoping for a little more I guess.  These sites are all part of the Oregon Trail.  We live on the Oregon Trail more or less.

At any rate, I was disappointed in the trading post that I didn’t even take pictures.  I decided to see about driving the loop though so I continued on.  The road actually is kind of in the hills.  Not mountains mind you, but hills.  Then you top out and drop into a valley on the other side.

After driving awhile you come further down the valley and off the side of the road are the pioneer graves.  There looks to be four of them with a memorial.  The view sure is nice from up there.  I didn’t stay long since it was windy and cold out today.  It is nice and sunny but cold.

It is looking like I’ll have to do a separate post with the pictures.

 

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

