Rain

We have rain! It is amazing the difference in the feel of the air when it rains versus when it snows. We still might get snow tonight and tomorrow though. Such as life. I got my grapes and apricot tree planted yesterday. I now have 6 grapes along my back garden fence and the apricot is in the side yard where I’ll put the chickens. I still need to stake the tree (recommended but I think I’ll see how it does) and I need to put a collar on the trunk to keep the mice off. I have it but everything was so wet it wasn’t going to work well yesterday. We do have some pretty good clay here. Still more loam than Montana but this soil is going to benefit from some compost.

I have peas and onions poking through the soil despite having been buried in snow for the last couple of weeks. Still need the asparagus and shallots to pop up. I got my lemon thyme planted yesterday too. I had really good luck with the thyme as a border plant in Montana so I’m trying it again along my perennial beds. I would actually like to line all my paths with some thyme as well but I think that could get a little out of hand as far as money goes.

I need to figure out for sure where my herb garden is going to go. I keep changing my mind. I also have garlic and rhubarb to plant. Trying to decide where I’m going to want the rhubarb. Actually, I might have just figured out where I want it. I’ll have to move some containers. Not a big deal there. Everything except the garlic and carrots didn’t survive. Silly carrots are sprouting now that they’ve been buried under the 4 foot drift we had.

Once I have the garden in and I figure out which beds will be left fallow this year I will start mulching with the straw/hay/manure mix that the last owners left us. I am so happy they left that. It makes such a great garden mulch. I’m a little worried since I haven’t seen a worm yet. Lots of caterpillars but no earthworms. Hmmmmm… I wonder if they are just hiding or if we don’t have much for soil. I would say it has been too cold but I could find them all winter in Montana so I doubt it is that.

I am ready (I think) for the full-blown planting season. Mostly I am ready to be outside that much. I have a lot of weed pick up to do. I got to some of it over the weekend but the side yard has quite the collection of tumbleweeds along the fence.

I’ll leave you with a few pictures. You can see we are starting to green up a little. We should really start getting green after this rain. We’re supposed to have some really nice weather after that. Good for growing.

Apricot in the foreground and looking over the garden.

Apricot in the foreground and looking over the garden.

One of the kids' trees that we got for our Earth Day celebration in town.  Free trees!  We got two.

One of the kids’ trees that we got for our Earth Day celebration in town. Free trees! We got two.

Front yard is starting to green up a bit.

Front yard is starting to green up a bit.

The side yard where the chickens will go.

The side yard where the chickens will go.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

