Chicken Coop

I have the first coat of paint on the pieces and now my husband is starting the putting together process. We, well, he ordered the kit. I’ve been pestering since he said he’d build me a chicken coop so he finally got sick of hearing me complain and ordered this kit. It is a perfect starter kit. It has room for 3 chickens and the plans for a run. This particular kit also has expansion kits one can get for it. That is if I decide I really like having chickens. A few birds will be a good way to start out since I’ve never had chickens before and I’m not sure if I even like them. I do love fresh eggs though.

As we get some pieces of this coop together I’ll get some pictures. I’ll also put another coat of paint on once things are together. I have my area picked out for the chickens. I have some fence repair and some gates to install yet. I’m interested in seeing what predators come after the chickens. Not that I’m thrilled about them but I am interested.

Besides chicken coop building we’ve managed to get a bit of gardening/yard work done. I still need to collect the piles of weeds and burn them. I got some grass seed spread yesterday. Hopefully it will take hold and get rid of some of these bare dusty spots we have. Areas like under my clothes line really need something to hold the dirt down. I also need to figure out where I’m going to put 6 grapes and an apricot tree. For this I need to figure out where they will be the safest from the deer. Durn critters. We have lots of bunnies too. Cute but destructive.

Well, while the weather is nice I’d better get going on the grapes. It is supposed to snow/rain over the next couple of days and I’d like to get those little guys in before they break dormancy. I just looked out my window and remembered that I think I may have couple more dead trees to take care of.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

