Supposedly Spring time

We have another winter storm. In April. So far it hasn’t put down as much as the last storm but it is still snowing and it is blowing. My husband went to work and by his road report the kids and I are staying home today. It just isn’t worth it for a half day of preschool.

The bad part of the storm is that we are stuck inside again and I’m trying to avoid the housework. I’ve just been over it this last week. As a result it looks as though the blizzard has hit my living room. Kid stuff everywhere and boy I need to vacuum.

Oh well. I’d much rather do other stuff. I had grapes and an apricot show up yesterday. My mom ordered them for us. I think I’ll wait to plant them until the snow stops.

I am really not complaining about the storm. I’m loving the moisture this is giving us. I’ll admit though, I was pretty happy with the warm spring days that we were getting a couple of weeks ago. I guess this means my seedlings will need to wait it out for a bit too.

I’ve finished the apple cider vinegar. It is a mild vinegar. I would guess that I wouldn’t be wise to use in preserving things. I just don’t think it has the acidity it would need. It does taste good though. Even after straining it though a flour sack kitchen towel it is still pretty cloudy. The “mother” is very fine and seemed to make it through the towel just fine. I’m assuming it will settle out like it does in other vinegar with the “mother.” I have mine in a couple of recycled beer bottles. It was a Belgian beer that had corks so I kept the bottles and corks. My applesauce jug of vinegar made about 1 and a half of these beer bottles. Not too bad. I’m excited to try this again. Such a simple thing to do. Not that vinegar is all that expensive but it is nice to use something that normally would be a waste material. Apple cores and water. How much easier does it get? I think next time though I will let it ferment longer to get a higher acidity. I think I’ll shoot for more like 6 months instead of 2-3 months.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

