Garden Mumbles

Over the weekend I ended up with the last of my paths staked and string strung between stakes. Today has been edging beds, pruning trees, setting water on the trees, and I’ll hopefully get a little weeding done. We got the very stinky pond insert pulled out of the back yard. Although now we have a big hole in the ground that I’m not sure what we’ll do there. I’m going to continue edging the other three beds and hopefully get all four cultivated. They are so compacted from the dogs and stuff that were in there before I don’t think any root system would make it through.

I still haven’t decided where I want everything yet. For some reason this year is a little overwhelming. Maybe that is due to the fact that I’m starting from scratch and actually trying to plan out the garden area. I’ve always just kind of thrown a garden together and wait and see what works. I’m also trying to do this big ol’ garden with little to no cash out of my pocket. We shall see how that goes. I spend a little here and there but no big plant orders this year or large purchases as of yet. I think I may end up wanting a greenhouse to extend the season but I’m not sure where I’ll put it.

I’d better go get digging again before I loose energy. It is supposed to be pushing 70 degrees today.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

