Easter Day update

Lemon cucumbers and I don’t get along.  I started seeds again this year and although they came up strong they are now dying a week later.  The other cucumbers are not having that problem so I’m not sure what the issue is.  I seem to remember something about they can have a lack of nitrogen at this stage but if that was the case you would think all the seedlings in that tray would have issues.  It isn’t though.  Just the lemon cukes.

Otherwise my seedlings are going great guns.  I tried a new-to-me seed starting medium.  It has a fertilizer in it.  This may be the lemon cukes problem too.  They may be getting too much stuff.  It is still early to put everything out yet.  I may end up planting some more today outside.  I haven’t decided where/what we are planting for sure.

I’m not good at planning.  I just kind of like to do it as I go.  This doesn’t lead to the best of gardens but it works for me.  It just drives my husband crazy.  I still can’t make up my mind on my back section of the garden.  I might do grass and I might add another bed.  Oddly I find I’m quickly running out of room.  Okay, maybe not so oddly.

On another note my kale and garlic in containers is coming up despite the neglect and the cold weather.  Carrots still haven’t sprouted but the kale is about a half an inch and the garlic has a couple of inches up.  I just threw them in containers while we were renting to see what would happen.  Hopefully we’ll have kale here shortly that we can add to the table.

Happy Easter.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

