Random garden thoughts turn into a list of plans.

I have big plans for this new place of ours if I can only get organized.  My garden area is coming together nicely.  The fenced area is 40 feet x 40 feet.  I’m using mostly the area that is 30×40.  The last 10 feet or so of the back has my compost, the kids’ sandbox, and hopefully will have a small bed of flowers or something as well.  Right now I have grass planned for back there.

The garden will be a four-square plan.  This means paths throughout that make a cross and you end up with four gardens toward the middle and beds around the perimeter.  The perimeter beds usually end up being your perennials with the four beds in the middle being your four annual veggie areas.  This particular year I will most likely just use the perimeter beds for everything.  This way I can keep the garden relatively small but hopefully still productive.  We’ll get the paths established and hopefully get a birdbath in the middle.  I also want a garden bench but that may not be possible this year.  We’ll see what we can find throughout the year.

I will be giving part of the garden over to the kids too.  They are both very excited about having their own gardens.  I find that the kids will eat whatever comes out of the garden.  They don’t always like stuff from the store but almost always like it out of the garden.  So I’m more than happy to give up some of my garden space and let them have at it.

So far I’ve gotten my onions, shallots, and asparagus in the ground.  I have onions, tomatoes, brussels sprouts, asparagus, peppers, hollyhocks, lavender, spearmint, and cucumbers started in my windowsills.  I’ve got some flower seeds out and I think if I can get another area cleaned up today I’ll add more.

Overall plans for the place:

let us be as self-sustaining as we can be

have chickens for eggs and maybe meat

ducks for eggs, meat, bug patrol, and entertainment

pack of farm dogs for company and protection

fiber animals to supply my spinning habit

fruit trees

possibly bees for honey and as pollinators

geese and turkeys for meat (maybe)

flowers for pretty things along with some of them being edible

maybe pig(s) for meat

doubt we’ll do goats or cows for milk – I like the idea but I don’t care for goats milk and I don’t want to be that tied to the place

I’d like the edibles to be as perennial as we can get.  The more naturalized we can get them the less work we have and less water used.

We want to supplement the grid for our power with either solar or wind or a combination of.

I want a green house for the garden to extend the season and available crops.

Horses/donkeys/mules are all possibilities. 

Guineas are a possibility since I seem to remember something about them helping to control snakes.  I wish I could remember where I saw/heard that so I could confirm this.

 

Off to see about implementing some of these plans since the banana bread is out of the oven and I don’t feel like starting in on the bread just yet.  Actually I’d better just get it done and rising so I can go play.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

