Mixed bag

We’ve had a mixed bag for weather this weekend and early on in the week.  We had a crazy wind/dust storm on Sunday with winds that were gusting to 60 mph and were holding pretty steady at 40 mph.  I bet the big brown dust cloud was 1000 feet up.  A bit scary driving home in that.  Yesterday was cold but nice.  About 19 F in the morning and then warmed nicely in the afternoon for being out and about.  This morning we woke to about an inch of snow.  Like I said, a mixed bag.

I was going to get a bunch done in the garden but not much has happened there with wind, snow, and cold.  I did find onion sets, shallot sets, and asparagus roots to start those so I’ve got to get crackin’ on getting my beds prepped.  I suppose I should find out more about growing asparagus too.  I think I’ll dig out (no pun intended) my cultivator and break up this compacted soil I have.  I have 6 big beds to get roughed in and at least two to get ready to plant.

My seedlings are up for the most part.  The only ones that aren’t at all are the asparagus ones.  At least now that I have a few roots it isn’t the end of the world if the seeds don’t start.  I’d like to get beds in and get my peas and beets started.  I keep debating potatoes.  I haven’t had a lot of luck with them.  I ended up with a lot of blight and scabs.  They are so cheap in the store that I find it hard to justify the work growing them.  Besides, we just don’t eat that many potatoes.  Now, peas, carrots, tomatoes, and onions?  We eat a ton of those so they are a no brainer to grow.  I only grow things like turnips and beets  about every other year.  We don’t love them so usually what I put up one year lasts us through the next.

I think I’m going to try to at least get gas in my cultivator tonight and see about getting it started.  Maybe I’ll get something done tomorrow since my son doesn’t have school so we don’t have to go to town tomorrow.  I love Wednesdays for that.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

