Robins and Jays

It must be spring!  I have crocus up (I didn’t plant them) and I have birds galore.  Robins, Blue Jays, and lots of little songbirds.  I also get a few doves in and I’ve seen about nine doe deer around the property.  I’m pretty sure I saw a coyote run across the very back of the property the other morning.

Fascinating watching the critters.  I’m watching a Blue Jay as I’ve been writing this.  They are beautiful birds.  We need to get the pond fixed up so all the birds can have fresh water instead of what is in there.  It is pretty gross right now.

We have grass seed coming sometime in the next week.  We ordered Buffalo Grass for our yard.  It is more expensive but basically a native to this area and it requires very little mowing or water.  The drought resistance is what we are most interested in.  We have some moisture in the ground at the moment but I don’t see that lasting long unless we get some more moisture.

I’ve been digging beds for the garden and I’m seeing some decent moisture down underneath but things are still pretty darn dry.  I would like to get some grass in though before we get too much moisture or else our yard is going to be a mud puddle.  The people before us had some sort of dog(s) in the fenced area and the grass is pretty much gone.  Now this isn’t a bad thing for starting a garden.  It is pretty nice to not have to dig out sod.  The ground here is easier to work all around than that Montana clay I had been dealing with.

Despite the fact that most folks don’t plant until after May around here I will more than likely keep up my routine of pushing those dates.  I at least plan to get my peas and some of my other cool weather crops in relatively soon.  It really won’t hurt them to get a few frosty nights.  Our average frost free date is May 20 and then average frost day is September 20.  Very similar to where we were before and I always pushed that one as well.

I will be interested in seeing the micro-climates of my yard.  My front yard is going to be a bit of a challenge.  Northern exposure so lots of shade.  At least up toward the house.  I’ve got to do more research about shade plants.  I had a few shady sections before but not like this.  I also have several trees.  Thank goodness because they help break the wind but they create shady spots to plant too.  I’ll be very thankful for that shade come August though.

Off to see about digging while it is cool weather.  We might even get some moisture today.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

