25 acres!!

We got it, we are here, and all of our paperwork is done. Yippee!! Now the work begins. For the most part it is in pasture but we do have some fenced areas that will work quite nicely for the garden. I’ve mapped out a basic four-square plan. Beds on the outside perimeter, four beds in between paths for vegetables, and paths that cross in the middle. For that middle we are thinking a bird bath feature. Either that or a traditional yucca which we have several of on the property that just needs transplanted. I’m not sure I want something that spiky in my garden with the little ones.

I am incorporating a compost area, the kids’ sandbox, and a garden bench as well. This year we’ll be working on getting the hardscaping (paths) done and a very basic veggie garden in. We don’t want to go to crazy with planting until we have a little better idea where the sunny, shady, windy, dry, or wet areas are. In addition to the garden we have some landscaping and weed control to get a handle on. We also want to get our pasture nice and healthy before we move any sort of critters in. The pasture and weed control may be the most difficult due to our current drought.

Things we have to contend with around here:

Wind – Being up on a hill we get lots of it.

Septic vents – It appears that there may be two systems or something. We plan on having an inspector/pumper out later on this spring and see what they can tell us.

Snakes – Yes, there are rattlesnakes in this country. I’m not thrilled about that but there isn’t much to do other than mitigate them the best we can.

Weeds – The weeds around here are nasty, thorny, barbed, and just plain awful to step on, fall on, or for animals to chew on.

Otherwise things seem pretty decent. It is going to get hot come summer as the trees really aren’t big enough yet to provide much shade. We’ll be planting a Bur Oak I got when my dad died. The funny part of that is that when I got the oak we lived in a piece of country where they don’t grow naturally. Now we live where they do. I get to plant it and hope it grows into a big beautiful shade tree for us.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

