A couple of points of interest

There is a series that I fell in love with on YouTube. I can’t remember who linked to it but I do wish I owned it. I finally found out I can buy it on the Acorn Media UK web site. This is good because I haven’t really been able to find the full episodes on YouTube again. It is call the Victorian Kitchen Garden. There were a couple of spin-offs as well along with a couple more in the series. It is fascinating to me to watch the amount of work that went into feeding a house. The amount of work was not the only thing. Sometimes the old gardeners came up with some pretty ingenious ways to extend the season. And oh to have the glass house they have in this series. Oh my. Although the amount of work it took to maintain the heat at the proper temperature is crazy. Considering they used to have several guys dedicated to the glass house. You weren’t allowed to manage the glass house until you had proven yourself as a gardener. I’d be out.

Talking about season extenders and that. I think I’ll actually head out this morning and see about some basic clean-up around the yard and beds. I want to get some lines drawn in the dirt as a map for the garden. Also, if I try digging out a dead tree I can see just how frozen the ground is or not.

Hmmmm… I just realized the little birds I’ve been watching from my window the last several mornings aren’t here today. I wonder what changed. It is cloudier. Wonder if we’re getting another storm soon. I do need to pick up some seed for them. We seem to have a lot of birds here.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

