New Garden Space!

Well, this lady is going to have to actually get to work this spring.  We bought 25 acres with a house.  There isn’t much else on the place.  It is mostly pasture with a wind/snow break running the length of the property.  Yep, it is windy here.  I don’t mind the wind too much but it does wreak havoc on garden plants that want water.  I have a bare fenced in back yard that someone used for dogs last.  It will be a perfect spot for my garden.  Next to that in another fenced in area we’ll add a chicken coop and be able to let the chickens scratch the garden at different times of the year but we’ll still be able to keep them out for the most part.

We have lots of sagebrush, some juniper, and some other trees that I won’t know until they leaf out.  We have a small livestock shed and corral (that needs a gate).  There is a fenced front portion of the property that is probably in the neighborhood of 5-10 acres.  I haven’t gotten a chance to determine exactly where the fence runs or if it is complete.  We’ll get to that after we get moved into the house.  Well, rather unpacked since we’ve been here for about a week now.

I’m excited to have a large garden again.  I’ll be keeping it relatively small this year as we get a feel for the place.  Also we are right in the middle of a drought so I don’t want to try to jump in with lots of new plantings just to have them scorch from lack of water.

As we get the property mapped out and some plans in order I’ll have to include those.  We will be installing a wood stove as well.  Right now it is only electric heat and winter time power outages worry me. 

Last little note before I go unpack some more stuff… I think I’ll not be doing the community garden.  It is a sweet deal though.  14 foot x 20 foot plot and the water is free.  That is almost the size of garden I had in Montana.  It is only $20 for the season and so long as you clean up your plot at the end it is refundable.  If we were still in town I would absolutely be doing that.  Even if I had my own garden space I think.  Now 15 miles is just a tad too far to be going to take care of an extra garden.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

