Signs of Spring

We officially have lots of robins. At first I thought it was just a crazy bird or two. Nope. It is the whole lot of them. We have robins all over the place. Don’t they know it is February? Did I really move that much further South? I don’t know. It makes me glad I have a few plants in my containers. It may still be freezing at night but it is certainly warming up. Although, we have all sorts of warnings about snow for this weekend. That is how it goes.

I’ve been doing garden research about our new area. Despite the fact that they are a bit colder than us the Cheyenne Botanical Gardens have been a great resource. They are only about an hour and a half away so I think their plant type resources and planting times are still quite valid. There is also the extension office for UNL here but I haven’t found their webpage as informative or easy to use. I’m sure the more I’m on there the easier it will get. Another cool site that I don’t know what I’m going to do with yet but I’m enjoying the sweet dreams that go along with it is for an apiary in Cheyenne. A beekeeping supply place so close. How cool is that?

We have some really neat resources within a relatively short distance to us. I’m finding there are some big nurseries in the Fort Collins area to round out the ones we have right here. I can hardly wait to check out the local nurseries along with the big box stores once the spring plants come in. I’m craving green right now. We are at least getting little bits of moisture now. Here and there. Not much but every little bit helps.

I am very excited to get digging and check out this new and very different dirt. Montana had so much clay. I even knew a gal that had dirt floors in her house that were all clay so very hard packed. Except in one place she had dug out to gather clay for her pottery. She was a potter by trade and most of her own personal kitchen wares were made with earthenware she had thrown and fired from her own land. She was a crazy hippie that I had a great time meeting. I bought a cup from her and initially paid her with a check. Turned out she didn’t have any sort of bank account so unless the check was off that bank the local bank wouldn’t cash the check for her so I ended up going out to her house/studio to give her the cash. We had a lot of fun talking for a while in her earthen home that she had built herself. I’m very envious of her South wall of windows. So much light and heat that she had a tropical house plant that she had named Monster because he was planted in the ground (remember the earthen floors?) and went all the way to the ceiling at the second story. Huge plant. Anyway, I treasure the mug she made and will cherish the memory of an afternoon drinking coffee in the sunshine on a bitter cold day in the Mission Valley.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

