Container experiment

Well, I’m trying it.  I planted carrots and kale in my containers yesterday.  At about 55 degrees F I just couldn’t keep my fingers out of the dirt.  I also sat on the porch to spin but that is another story. 

I planted Danvers Half Long carrots figuring that they won’t need as much space since I’m using a container.  I do have them in a big and deep planter but I figure any advantage I can give them the better.  My kale variety: Dwarf Blue Scotch Curled.  It is the only kale variety I have at the moment.  It did well in my garden in Montana but we’ll see here.  Of course it is a bit early to really get the garden going but the weather has been so goofy that I figured I’d try.

We are still getting all the way into the low 20s at night (so still freezing) but we’re warming into the 50s and even sometimes 60s during the day.  I imagine we’ll still get some good hard freezes yet and some snow (we hope) which is why I put the stuff in planters.  Well, that and I rent.  With them being in containers I can always pull them in if the weather takes a turn for the worse.  I plan on trying to leave them out unless it gets really cold though.  I want to see how they do.  I want tough plants.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

