Wishing for Moisture and Seed Starting Itch

I should hear this week on when the gal at the community gardens will be down there.  I’ll go look at the plots and pick one.  It really is only $20/year.  Not bad rent.  My only hesitation right now is that we still hope to find that chunk of property out of town and I’m not sure I’ll want to drive to town to care for that garden.  At the same time I’d like to support a local organization.  We shall see I suppose.  I guess if we find that property we want I’ll just have to figure out how to get organized and keep both gardens going.  Besides, if we don’t get the property I’d sure kick myself if I didn’t have a garden to tend.

I’m thinking I’ll be starting seeds here shortly.  I think I have some pots and plastic cells that we moved with us.  I don’t have any seed starting medium but I do have some potting soil.  I think I’ll see if it works.  We are working on a pretty tight budget this year so I don’t want to spend more than necessary.  I also have several large planters and pots that I’ll grow some lettuce and kale type plants in.  I’ll be planting those here shortly for sure.

We actually got rain the other night!  This is only the third time it has rained since we moved here.  It has only snowed twice.  We desperately need some moisture.  All the reports are talking continued drought.  Ugh!  Any garden I grow and all the farmers around the country sure could use more moisture.  I’m going to be installing a rain barrel if we ever get a place.  Even at our rental I may dig it out and open it up.  I may not set it all the way up but I can hopefully collect some water.  That is if it ever rains again.

I’m going to have to do some research into water conservation.  I may also have to be careful about which varieties I plant.  They’ll need to be drought resistant and heat loving.  This will be a very different gardening experience from my clay garden in Montana.  It seems to be a lot more sand around here.  More sand equals better drainage but also means more water needed.  My clay soil held the water so well I usually didn’t actually water my garden until mid-summer.  That clay would actually make sucking noises after a rain when I pulled weeds.  It was a bit like growing things in a giant sponge.  When dry it was nearly impenatrable and when wet it seemed like it would never dry. 

From what I’m seeing around here there is a lot of sandy silty type soil.  Not much loam.  I just don’t know what to do with it yet.  I’ll have to keep track of how much I have to water and how often.  I need to get better with my record keeping anyway.

Our temperatures have been all over the place too.  Most of this last week we’ve been in the 20s at night but around 60 during the days.  Super warm for January.  Although January does seem to get the proverbial “January thaw” and then February hits with a vengance.  I hope for the moisture content that happens here.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

