Community Gardens

I’ve got to make a phone call to my local community garden today.  I’m working on getting a garden plot for this year.  As we are having a tough time finding a house to buy and I don’t want to put a garden in for someone else again, I thought it would be a good idea to talk to them about gardening at the community garden.  We may end up in some other little town around here but I don’t care.  If we do I’ll put a garden in there too.

My husband and I talked about it a little bit too.  If I end up with two gardens he may end up incorporating my “in town” garden into his English classes.  He teaches several English as a Second Language (ESL) classes and we both think it would be good practice for the students to work on talking to other gardeners, take field trips to the garden, get to eat some fresh produce, and have to work with other native English speakers while doing all of it.  That is one of the nice things about being an English teacher.  You can work with just about any other subject while still covering your English lessons.

So back to my portion of this garden.  Plots are pretty inexpensive if I was reading correctly.  $20/season.  That seems pretty inexpensive to me.  I’ll call them today and set up a time to go look at the plots and the greenhouse.  Maybe I’ll get a greenhouse plot too. I don’t know.  I’d love to because then I could really expand the type of plants I can do.  I don’t know for sure what I’m getting into.  I’ve never used a community garden before.  I’ve always thought they were a good idea but have never had a need for one.  Now I do.

I’ll try to remember to take pictures when I go.  No promises these days though.  It seems I’d forget my head if it weren’t attached.

Once I know the size and where my plot will be I can start really planning.  I will have to really cut back on the amount I think.  I love a big garden but I think a small one will be good for me to work on for a while.  It will make me plan things out a bit better.  I’m terrible about planning my garden.  I like to do it like most things I do.  On a whim.  That doesn’t always make for the best garden and with a smaller area I’d still like to get a good yield.  Besides getting a good yield I’d like to try some new varieties this year.  I’ve gotten several new to me seed catalogs this year.  Oh my.  I sure could spend a lot of money on seeds and plants.  I won’t but I could.

My seeds are organized and ready to go.  I even have them in a good container for travelling.  I’m hoping to get out to the plots tomorrow.  Today is crazy busy but I still might be able to do it today.  We’ll see what they say when I talk to them.

So much to do.  Garden to set up and plan out, yarn to spin, yarn to set, yarn to skein, and people to talk to.  We also have houses to look at since our hunt continues.  We are looking at a couple of acreages today but neither are super promising.  All that is on top of the normal every day cleaning and getting the kiddo to school.  Who says winter is quiet?  Not around here.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

