Update to Apple Cider Vinegar

Mine is bubbling away on the counter and starting to actually smell like vinegar.  It has only been 5 days since I put the water over the apples.  In those 5 days I’ve gotten lots of good bubbles going on in the jar.  I just smelled it and this morning it is smelling a bit yeasty.  Is that a word?  It makes me wonder how sourdough would do here.  If there is that much natural yeast in the air here it might make some good bread.

Back on track here.  What I used:

1 applesauce jar (2 pound size glass)

leftover apple pieces and cores from about 5 apples (I didn’t stuff the jar as I didn’t know how much bubbling etc would come from the fermenting process)

distilled drinking water — just enough to cover the apple pieces

cheese cloth and a rubber band — I doubled over the cheese cloth a couple of times and used the rubber band to hold it onto the top

And best of all?  I found the link I used for making apple cider vinegar.  I’m excited to have this work.  We love apples and apple cider vinegar.  I also use “the mother” when I’m making my own red wine vinegar (that will be another post one day).

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update to Apple Cider Vinegar

  1. Pingback: Apple Cider Vinegar ~ Halfway through the process. | lazymomgardener

Leave a Reply

