Apple Cider Vinegar

While I have my last cup of coffee this morning I’ll tell you about a little experiment I’m doing.  I’m attempting to make apple cider vinegar from scratch.  Supposedly you just take some apple cores and/or whole apples (the method will determine the amount of time to complete) and some water and let them ferment.  So I collected cores from the kids (they eat several pounds of apples a week) and put them in a jar.  I didn’t worry about them browning while I collected as the instructions I read said to let them brown.  I then covered them in water.  I did use a distilled water since our water is so hard and I didn’t know what those minerals will do to the process.  I have the jar covered with some cheesecloth to keep dirt and stuff out but let the air in.  If I remember correctly — Because do you think I can remember where I find this stuff?– it should take about 2 months with cores.  You just let nature take its course and build a scum (doesn’t that sound yummy?) and then it will settle to make “the mother.”  After several weeks you start doing taste tests until it gets to where you want it to be.  The rest, I’m going to have to look up again.  Hopefully I can find it. 

I would like to be able to make this well since we want to have a small apple orchard and vinegar is one thing I’d like it to provide.  Not that vinegar is expensive to buy but it feels good to know exactly where your food comes from and I gain a certain amount of satisfaction just knowing I can do something if I need to.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

