Seed Catalogs

They have started to arrive already.  I love going over them and thinking about what I want in next year’s garden.  I’m hoping I have a place to garden next summer.  I wonder if there are community gardens here.  I think there is but that is something I will have to research.  I do not want to go without a garden again.  Despite being a bit lazy toward my garden I love having one.  Not only does the food taste better but it gets me some excercise that I don’t think about as such and it makes my head get back on straight when I can get some dirt therapy.

It is amazing how much a garden can help with one’s sanity.  I loved going out when I was mad about something and whacking weeds and digging with a vengance.  I hope to find a place to do that again soon.  Even if it is a community garden instead of my own chunk of property. 

We’ve had a pretty crazy roller coaster ride on trying to find a place so I’m not counting on anything at this point.  I’m trying to convince myself right now to do a better job with containers.  I seem to have a hard time with them.  I either over-water or forget to water.  Sometimes I forget and then I swamp them.  Either way the plants don’t care for it.

I have a dwarf lime as a house plant (speaking of container plants).  I still haven’t gotten it to flower.  I don’t think I’ve been able to keep the heat and humidity up for it.  It keeps growing so that is good.  In fact it has a couple new shoots that it has put on in the last day or so.  Still no flowers or limes though.  My avocado is a pretty ugly plant too.  I have it as a houseplant as well.  It started from a pit in my compost pile and I rescued it from our Montana winters.  It is still only about a foot tall and is kinda sad looking.  It hasn’t been thrilled with moving or my lack of attention.  I tell ya, I’m not doing so hot with these guys.  Not to mention the lavender and mums I have outside that may or may not be living.  Those would be helped if outside was nice here at our rental.  I rarely go outside.  Maybe I should bring those guys in and treat them as houseplants too.

I think I’m off to peruse more seed catalog choices.  I’m in the mood for herbs this year.  Herbs and flowers.  The veggies will be there too, but the herbs are going to be my main concentration.

 

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

