A whole lot of I don’t know what…

I miss being outside working in the garden.  I’m trying to be excited about planning my garden though.  It can be difficult when you don’t have an actual site to plan though.  I have my basic plant list.  I have my standard plants I like/love/are easy to grow and then I have the list of plants I want to try.  So, now that I’ve finally figured out a lot of my blogs issues (apparently I can’t use Explorer to post anymore) I will start making my lists on here again.

Herbs:

lemon balm

mint

chives

lavender

comfrey

calendula

echinacea

sage

thyme

basil

parsley

cilantro

Veggies:

onions

tomatoes

peppers

tomatillos

cabbage

carrots

peas

beets

pumpkins

melons

soy beans

green beans

shallots

bok choy

parsnips

turnips (once in awhile- I only like these pickled)

collard greens

radishes

brussels sprouts

kale

lettuce

asparagus

celery

Fruits, Berries, and other random things:

apples

raspberries

strawberries

currents

gooseberries

pears

peaches

elderberries

chokecherries

hawthorn

service berry

walnut

I’m not sure how much of this will be practical in our new local but I think a lot of it will be manageable.  Especially if someday I’m able to add a green house.  I’d kind of like to make it more of the Victorian style glass house.  I’m not sure I have enough motivation to manage a place like that though.  

Some day I’m hoping to add critters to our collection as well so I can reap the benefits of the manure piles for my garden.  I’m seriously considering sheep especially now that I’ve taken up spinning and am trying to teach myself to knit.  My major down fall when it comes to knitting… I’m slow and I get impatient.  I like spinning because it goes fast.  I do need to get going on that again.  I have a couple of projects I need to work on and hopefully accomplish before Christmas.

There are many things I’d like to do in the way of handwork.  I have a crocheted shawl, a knit scarf, a braided rag rug, and two different kinds of yarn all going at the same time.  And like a silly girl I have 2 blogs, one fun book for me going, a long chapter read aloud book for the kids going, 2 little kids, we are trying to buy a house, then we get to move to that house, and it is the holiday season.  No wonder there are days I just want to crawl into a hole and hide.  That’s life though.  It seems that the less I’m doing the less I get accomplished too.  The busier I am the better I am at getting things done.  It is counter-intuitive but it seems to kick the time management into high gear when I’m busy.  If I’m not busy then I seem to let everything go by the wayside.

Well, now that I am hopefully back on track with this blog I hope to write more often.  I’d even like to get it going to where I can put pictures up again.  Too bad I didn’t get any pictures of all the dang puncture vine we have at our rental house.  I’d show you what a miserable little creature it is.  Well actually here: puncture vine It is not a fun thing to have on your property.  And yes, it will puncture tires and go through a lot of shoes.  And last but not least it will make you hop and cuss when one gets buried in your foot. 

 

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

