Hooray!

It appears that switching browsers fixed my posting problem.  Frustrating because my husband and I share computers so we keep browsers separate for bookmarks and that.  Oh well.

On to my garden.  Rather my lack thereof.  I’m forced into containers for now.  I’m discovering I’m not good with containers.  I either water too much or not enough.  I forget to move them around so the plants either get too much sun and cook to death or they languish in the shade.  So far I’ve managed to kill a bunch of tomato starts.  I think I’ve got my lavender going okay along with some mums.  That is pretty much the extent of my garden right now.  That and a few sad herbs in pots inside.

I do wish I had a garden plot again.  We are trying.  I was getting settled into our rental and hoping I could get some compost going and thinking I might get some peas and early vegetables that we could harvest before the end of summer.  Then we got a notice from our landlord/property manager that they want us out because they want to sell the house and the buyer wants to occupy the place.  They don’t appear to be able to kick us out but it does step up our house hunting.  We are tempted to fight it on principle but the problem there is we want out too.  We just don’t want kicked out with a deadline in the middle of winter.

So we are house hunting hard.  We’ve found a couple we like but they are on the more expensive end.  We are considering putting an offer in on one of them.  We really like the neighborhood and it is super close to the college for work.  We met the neighbors too.  They seem super nice and with similar interests to us.  And have kids about the same age.  The other places really haven’t held much appeal.  Well, not quite true.  We had an offer in on a property that was an acreage.  There were lots of things that stopped us from getting it.  With our experience in the last week with our property manager I think it is a good thing we didn’t get the other place.  The office of the property manager is also who was brokering that other sale.  We won’t be using them anymore for real estate dealings.

Now that it is November and we are house hunting hard I’m a little worried about the holidays but it will all work out so long as we are together.  I sure won’t be doing any work to this yard or putting in any garden.  At least this should give me ample time to plan my garden and landscaping.  Also to give me some time to figure out what grows well in this new area of ours.

 

 

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

