Loss of my garden

We have moved away from my garden.  I miss it sooooo much already.  I knew it would be bad, but I didn’t know how bad.  I miss going out and picking some lemon balm, mint, and lavender flowers to make tea with.  I miss going out and seeing what was ready so I could include that in the evening meal.  I miss watering, weeding, planting, and even slug hunting.

Oh how I dislike renting.  I so want to start a new garden plot but I don’t want to start one that I will have to leave again.  So, I’m doing a container garden.  I’ve got some cherry tomatoes and beefsteak tomatoes started in a little tray.  There are benefits to coming in this late: Seed starting stuff is on clearance.  As is most garden stuff.

The moving truck is supposed to be here on Friday and along with that I will be getting lots of containers.  Then I’ll just need some soil and some plants.  Oh I miss my garden.  Have I mentioned that yet.  I know I have.  It seems a little silly to miss something so much but I’ve just spent the last 4 years getting it to where I want it.  I just put in 6 climbing roses this year along with a bunch of other perennials.  I wish I could see it blooming.  The roses were starting to bloom when we left.

I guess we’ll just have to spend this next year finding my little farm.  The house and property we are in now would be great if we could get some of the issues with the house fixed.  There are some rotten floors, some (okay a lot) cat pee, and some pretty sad construction on the addition.  So frustrating because the house is 2400 sq feet so it is nice and big.  The property is 3 acres and is essentially in town.  There is a chicken coop, barn, shop, and garage.  Granted they are all in pretty sad shape.  It wouldn’t be so bad if the price were lower but they want quite a bit of money for quite the fixer upper.

I keep thinking we’ll find something.  We have to.  I need my garden space back and I want to be able to have chickens, ducks, and let the kids do 4-H.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

