December! 

December!  At least the garden is kind of put to bed.  We raked the leaves all over it.  I never did get anything cleaned up.  Somehow time ran away and it stole the daylight.  So there sits the garden… Void of garlic I was going to plant, void of lime/gypsum I was going to add, and full of dead plant material.  Such as life.  This is one of the many reasons I don’t worry too much about how a person is “supposed” to do things.  I’d lose a lot of sleep if I worried about that.

In the mean time I am getting more into the kitchen (on my weekends) than I do in the summer.  There is nothing like eating a bunch of hot-out-of-the-oven homemade bread with butter melted into and rubbed with some home-grown garlic. Mmmmmm…  I love the winter months because it means I can use my oven without cooking us out of our house.  Yay!

Christmas is right around the corner.  I haven’t figured out what I’m doing with that, but I did start on my cards today.  Hopefully I’ll get them all tackled before Christmas…

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December! 

  1. Mary says:

    Katrina,
    Not to worry, as you said, about not removing the old plant material. Just think how much the little soil critters love that undisturbed soil covered with leaves. They will be happily doing their thing all winter to help your soil.

Leave a Reply

