World Food Day

http://www.npr.org/2011/10/16/141368215/wagering-on-food-prices-a-losing-bet-for-hunger

This is an interesting article about the price of food and how it has been affected by the speculation and the trade of commodities.  I hear blips about the rising commodity prices and then I see it personally at my little grocery story but it still doesn’t really sink in.  I find it interesting to see the chart off to the side that shows the percentage of increase in the last five years.  Wow.  No wonder my pocket book hurts after a trip to the grocery store.

The scary part of all this is that I know I make decent money (especially for the area I live in) and still find it difficult to make ends meet.  Having lived on much less in the past I can feel a great empathy for those trying to make it on a much smaller income.  No wonder food banks are being utilized more and more.

So what does it all boil down to?  Gotta say I’m agreeing more and more with the views of the locavores, green movements, etc.  I like the idea of the community gardens, backyard chickens, victory style gardens, and the like.  A package of seeds at for $3 or less that provides food for a season sure looks a lot better than $3+ per trip to the store for something like tomatoes.

It would be nice to be able to grow all of ones food, but that is a heck of a lot of work.  Which is why so many folks don’t do it.  That and land restrictions.  I say, just do what you can.  A container of herbs is one way to reduce the costs.  Have you priced herbs lately?  Dill Weed is a perfect example.  It is quite literally a weed that grows like crazy but if you go to buy the weed or seeds as an herb in a nice neat little package it is upwards of $4-$7 dollars.  Nuts.

Most herbs are pretty easy to grow in a window.  They don’t take much specialized care. A definite plus for me…

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

